Don’t Wait for the Perfect Moment

20 May

When I was still working in Manila, I often think about going home and settling for a life in our province of Batangas.  I just wanted a simple life but I was waiting for the perfect moment, which in my mind was when I have my own business, enough savings, our own house and our own car.

But the perfect moment is taking too long.  I was on my eight year on the job and I was missing my daughter whom I get to see during weekends only.  She and my hubby went home to Batangas when she turned 6 months.  I couldn’t accept that kind of family life so I quit my job and went home to them for good three months later.

We can’t always wait for the perfect moment to arrive before acting on our plans.  It can be a waste of time because it may never come or may not even be necessary to carry out our plans.  We learn more by doing and can make things work out somehow.  In my experience, taking the first step was the scariest part, the rest get less and less scarier.

We still don’t have our own house and I still don’t have my own business.  But we do have an emergency fund and were able to buy a used car.  And we are now living a simpler, slow-paced life.

2 Responses to “Don’t Wait for the Perfect Moment”

  1. Noreen January 8, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I enjoy reading your blog. I can totally relate! After working 10 years at my current job, I decided to quit. And to take it easy. But boy oh boy its so scary to step outside of your comfort zone. After speaking to my boss, I decided to have one foot in, one foot outside the door. I work part time. I have been using this opportunity to explore my options professionally and enjoy life as a mommy of a toddler and pre schooler. I love it!

    But I think this time will have to end soon. But I don’t regret stepping back. I feel like I am living a life where I am also in it. I have learned so much by taking a short break. And I think I have come out stronger.

    Looking forward to reading more of your entries!

    • Laila January 8, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      hi, noreen! thank you for reading my blog!
      scary indeed. i’ve never been so worried and anxious.
      but we survived! we can do anything, we are mommies after all. =)

Leave a Reply

