To Homeschool or Not To Homeschool

15 Dec

My daughter turned three years old last weekend.  A few months before that, I downloaded a master list of private preschools from the Department of Education’s website and began considering our options.  We settled on sending her to a private preschool next, next school year.  Next year, we’ll enroll her to the public day care center.  For a while, I was okay with this.

But I can’t keep my mind keep off of homeschooling.   I just can’t seem to give up the idea of homeschooling my daughter.  I have read about its benefits and I want to at least give it a try.  So, I am planning to enroll her to the Special Nursery Program of the Catholic Filipino Academy (CFA).

The program, which can be finished in 5-6 months, consists of:

1) Reading Program Manual – composed of 100 lessons. You do 1 lesson a day every other day or from Mon to Thurs.

2) Writing and Activity Workbook – also made up of 100 lessons and you use this in tandem with the Reading Program.

3) Math Ideas for Nursery – lists down all the math concepts  your child needs to know, and tells  you how to teach  those concepts using things at home. This one you can choose to do everyday after the Reading or Writing activity.

4) Audio CD of the pronunciation of the letters of the alphabet

I hope this works out. If not, the next best thing would be to enroll her to a non-traditional school.

Leave a Reply

