My Choice is Here

20 Dec

We had a dream of working and settling in Canada.  In late 2007, a year before our daughter was born, we filed an application for permanent residenceProcessing time for federal skilled workers by the embassy in Manila is currently seventy-seven (77) months.

We wanted to migrate to Canada because we want a better life.  We were attracted to the country’s health care, public education, and support for senior citizens, among others.  My mother’s sister, along with her husband and two kids, migrated there in early 2000.  She was the one who encouraged me to apply.

A lot of things have happened since 2007.  Some major life changes.  We had a child, I resigned from my job in the nation’s capital, went home to the province, my husband went away for 6 months to work abroad when our child was 2 years old, and we built a house near my family.  We are slowly but surely moving towards living the life of our dreams.

That’s when I realized I don’t want to go to Canada anymore.  The Philippines hasn’t surpassed Canada’s health care, public education or support for senior citizens, not even close.  Nothing much have changed.  But I did.  My beliefs changed.  I now believe we can make it wherever we choose to be.

Leave a Reply

