I Want To Be A Writer

27 Dec

At first I thought I wanted to be an accounting consultant.  After just one client, my heart tells me, No, that’s not it.  Then I thought, how about freelance accountant?  That little voice in my head says, Really now?  Keep searching.

A few days ago, it struck me.  I want to be a writer.  There, I said it.  What an enormous relief.  Accountant-turned-writer?  Why not?  I enjoy writing.  After this realization, I did what I have always done.  I read about it to learn more.

I bought Accidental Genius: Using Writing to Generate Your Best Ideas, Insight and Content.  Browsing through book reviews done by Trent of The Simple Dollar, I took note of what he wrote about Stephen King’s On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft:

“he goes so far as to say that if you don’t read a lot and write a lot, you shouldn’t be pursuing a writing career.” and

Write a certain amount every day. King suggests 2,000 words – at least, that’s what he does. Set whatever number you decide on as your goal.”

I got the reading part down pat.  And I just picked up journal writing again last month and then started blogging again this month.  I don’t know how far this will take me.  As the cliche goes: only time will tell.

2 Responses to “I Want To Be A Writer”

  1. Brain Burst Writing December 27, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Good luck with writing. I also am determined to write. I highly recommend Stephen King’s book. I enjoyed it and his strategies for writing have proven very useful for me and hopefully you’ll find them to be as well. I’d also recommend The Forest for the Trees: An Editor’s Advice to Writers by Betsy Lerner. It’s a great book that is both very practically useful as well as inspirational.

    • laila January 6, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      hi, joseph. thanks for the tips! good luck with your writing too.

Leave a Reply

