Revised Goals

28 Dec

My focus has shifted.  My list of goals for 2012 does not inspire me anymore.  The last three (sell lot to pay another lot, teach daughter to read,  invest daughter’s savings) looks more like tasks instead of goals.  The first goal (earn a specific income) becomes less important than implementing a 10/20/70 budget (10% Tithe, 20% Retirement, 70% Expenses).

A large portion of our income goes to lot payments.  Once paid, tithing and saving for retirement are going to be easy.  We earn enough from our day jobs to support our needs (needs being the operative word).  Eventually, I want to earn doing what I love.  But for now, I just want to write.  I don’t want to take the fun out of it yet.

Writing reduces stress.  I find myself humming and singing while doing household chores.  I laugh more and have less “drama queen” moments.  And since I love doing it, procrastination is not even a problem.  I don’t have to force myself to write.  I am still able to fulfill a promise I made to myself to publish a post daily.   Time management is a non-issue.  I find time in between taking care of my daughter, doing household chores and working on my day job.

I’m starting to get what Leo of Zen Habits meant on one of his posts:

“Life can feel effortless, like you’re gliding along, if you learn to swim smoothly, to glide, to stop fighting the waters of life and start using them to buoy you up.”

Leave a Reply

