I Want To Be A Homeschooler

29 Dec

Six more months before the next school year starts.  Everywhere, I see advertisements announcing that enrollment is ongoing for the school year 2011-2012.  Kids my daughter’s age will start attending preschools on June 2012.  My daughter will, too, but not in a public or private school.  I made up and mind.  I will homeschool my daughter.

I’m scared out of my wits.   Is homeschooling for us?  Do I have what it takes?  And most important of all, is it what’s best for my daughter?  Will she benefit from it?  I resigned to the fact that it’s up to me.  The weight is on my shoulders.  One thing is for sure though,  I will regret it if I don’t even try.

No one in my family has done it.  However, I have mentioned it to them before and they know I am considering it.  The office of Catholic Filipino Academy (CFA), the homeschool provider that I chose, is in Manila.  I already contacted them via e-mail and received a copy of the application form for the Special Nursery Program several days ago.

I haven’t submitted the form yet.  Fear reared its ugly head.  I have come up with a dozen excuses.  What if I’m making a wrong decision?  What if CFA is not the best homeschool provider for us?  What other options have I not explored yet?  And the bookworm in me protested, you haven’t even read a single homeschooling book!

The only mother I know personally, who homeschools her children, is a friend who lives in another province, Laguna.   What she said laid my fears to rest.  “I just go by my instinct…the Holy Spirit will guide you =)”  God is with me.  It’s not a hard decision to make after all.  It’s a heart decision.

2 Responses to “I Want To Be A Homeschooler”

  1. copycatmom December 30, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    The only way to homeschool is to jump. You can research and plan all you want. If you don’t jump, you never will. You will question every choice an curriculum every day until you find the perfect mix for your family. Sometimes you jnust have to have faith.

    • laila January 6, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      hi, carollida! thanks for the tips! =)

Leave a Reply

