Looking Back

30 Dec

I can’t count the number of times I have read and researched on passion.  How to find it.  How to discover it.  How to follow it.  The title of the book “I Don’t Know What I Want, But I Know It’s Not This” describes perfectly how I felt for years.  I was envious, but inspired, of people I read about who knows what they want to do right from the start.

At some point, I just gave up.  I tried a different approach.  I found ways on how to enjoy and appreciate my job.  But it never lasted for long.  I also tried to reason that it’s just a phase, that I’m just experiencing burnout, and that I just needed a vacation or time off from work.  But soon after, I find myself angry but mostly frustrated.  It was a cycle I went through again and again.

During trips to bookstores, the book “Do What You Love, The Money Will Follow” will always catch my attention.  But I never bought and read it.  My excuse was I don’t even know what I love doing.  What do I need it for?  Well, maybe I want to be my own boss.  So I tried my hand on several sideline businesses such as baking, soap-making, and multi-level marketing.  And failed.

Just when I thought I needed my “safe, secure and stable” job the most, I quit.  And it has been the best decision I have ever made, so far.  Have I discovered my passion?  Am I following it?  Am I getting paid doing it?  I would like to answer with a resounding yes, 100%, to all three questions.  I can’t.  Not yet.  But our new lifestyle, simple living and working from home, gives me the freedom to find out.

I don’t think I would appreciate the life we are living now as much, if I hadn’t gone through all that.  Let me end this post with a quote from Greg Anderson (American best-selling Author and founder of the American Wellness Project): “Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.”  Have a great journey!

Leave a Reply

