Gratitude for 2011 and Optimism for 2012

31 Dec

Some bloggers are rounding up the year by writing about their top posts.  There’s Becoming Minimalist’s Top Posts of 2011  and then there’s The Essential Zen Habits of 2011.  These are the blogs about minimalism that I follow, by the way.

I am tempted to follow their lead.  But with only a handful of posts…  Well, you get the picture.  So instead, I am going to reflect on the blessings that I have received and on my hopes for the coming year.

These are what I am thankful for:
•    that the family were together to celebrate important occasions such as birthdays and christmas
•    the perks and privileges that having our own home has afforded us
•    that we are all healthy and well

And for my aspirations:

On writing
•    I intend to keep writing a minimum of 2,000 words on my journal daily.  This habit has helped clarify things for me,  allowed me to figure out stuff that I have been wondering about, helped me get in touch with myself and examine my emotions.
•    I intend to keep publishing posts daily.  This habit will help me develop my writing skills, find my voice and share my thoughts.

On homeschooling
•    I intend to make learning fun for my daughter and to raise her knowing and believing that she can be anything she wants to be.  I want her to pursue her interests and follow her passion.
•    For the benefit of us both, I intend to be a better person and a better parent.  I want to be more mindful of my actions and my words and how they affect the people around me.

Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

