When I Grow Up, I Want to be Like My Daughter

4 Jan

I’m still on a poem-writing mode:

She sings her heart out,
dances like no one’s watching
cries, laughs, and gets mad,
isn’t afraid to show what she’s feeling

She doesn’t care much
what other people say and think,
when they don’t give their approval,
her heart doesn’t sink

She knows what she wants
She doesn’t just give up
She is not easily discouraged
She’s gentle yet tough

She doesn’t procrastinate,
doesn’t suffer from analysis paralysis,
not afraid to fail and make mistakes,
and does as she pleases

She has no worries whatsoever
She sleeps peacefully at night
Tuck her in and kiss her goodnight
and just remember to turn on the nightlight

2 Responses to “When I Grow Up, I Want to be Like My Daughter”

  1. Neeks January 4, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    So very sweet. I think I agree, I want to be a kid again too!

    • laila January 4, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      hi, monique! if you have time, here are my three words: complicated, no-brainer, stare. =)

Leave a Reply

