Ready, FIRE, Aim!

8 Jan

In Chapter 51: Make Things Happen of the book 8 Secrets of the Truly Rich, Bo Sanchez wrote:

A lot of people use this strategy for their projects:
Ready… aim… Fire!
I have a slightly different strategy for my projects:
Ready… Fire! aim…
(and fire again… aim…and fire again… aim… and fire again…)
Hey, I’m not talking about recklessness.  Remember, the first step is “Ready.”
But I use this strategy because I want to avoid the very common strategy of many people:
Ready… aim… aim… aim… aim… aim…
They just aim. They never pull the trigger.
Why? Because they want to cross every “t” and dot every “i” before they start anything.

Steve Pavlina, widely recognized as one of the most successful personal development bloggers on the Internet, wrote about the ready-fire-aim approach in his blog post, Do It Now:

You can always make adjustments along the way. It’s the ready-fire-aim approach, and surprisingly, it works a lot better than the more common ready-aim-fire approach. The reason is that after you’ve “fired” once, you have some actual data with which to adjust your aim. Too many people get bogged down in planning and thinking and never get to the point of action. How many potentially great ideas have you passed up because you got stuck in the state of analysis paralysis (i.e. ready-aim-aim-aim-aim-aim…)?

The strategy/approach reminds me of the line “Just Do It”, made famous by Nike’s advertising campaign.   The quote “Leap, and the net will appear” (John Burroughs) carries the same message to me.

I confess.  I read the book in 2007.   But that didn’t stop me from spending the next four years doing Ready… aim… aim… aim… aim… aim…  Blogging is my first conscious effort of applying the ready-fire-aim strategy.   I started this blog in April 2011 and revived it last month, learning things along the way.  I am not done yet.  There are still a lot to learn.

The best thing I got from blogging?  I got confident (a.k.a. developed a thick skin.  Ha ha!) and posted links to Simpful Life on my Facebook wall and on two local message forums.  I shared my dreams, prepared to fall flat on my face and let people know of my failures.  But ready to stand up again.

Leave a Reply

