Taking on Another Personal Writing Project

18 Jan

Blogging is my first personal writing project.  I started small and used the ready-fire-aim strategy while working on the Simpful Life.  So far, I was able to fulfill a promise I made to myself in December 15 of last year, which is to publish posts daily.

It was fun learning how to maintain a blog, knowing about widgets and stuff.  There’s still much to do.  But I feel that I am ready to start another project and still continue blogging.  The idea came to me last Saturday, which happened to be one month after I started blogging daily.

Project Three

I “declared” that I wanted to be a writer last December.  I want to write a book and get it published someday.  Instead of just sitting around waiting for a miracle (a.k.a. a book deal.  I wish! ) to happen, I can start writing an e-book now and self-publish it later.

Remembering that two of the blogs that I follow posted about self-publishing last year, I checked out their archives.  Zen Habits posted an audio, On the Future of Books: A Discussion with Seth Godin in November 17 while Becoming Minimalist wrote 12 Self-Publishing Lessons Learned in the Last 12 Days in November 22.  There are so much to do and learn.

Consider This

The book that I’m going to write is dedicated to my daughter.  It’s my personal manifesto, a set of rules or guidelines that I live by or am currently making an effort to live by.  The working title is “Consider This”.  Why?  Because my intention is to share only.  I am not imposing that my daughter adopt her mother’s manifesto.  I don’t want to dictate how to live her life but I also do not want her to sing me “Buses and Trains” either (Hey Mom/ Why didn’t you tell me/ Why didn’t you teach me a thing or two/ You just let me go/ Out into the World/ You never thought to share what you knew).

Thirty-three and Three

I’m going to begin with the end in mind.  By April 15, 2012, three months after the idea came to me, I would have finished writing a 33-chapter e-book.  The 3 major topics are family (parenting & motherhood), life in general (personal development and how to’s),  and finances (money & career).  In 3 months, I would have come out with 33 rules or guidelines.  The numbers 33 and 3 are not just random numbers that I chose.  I am 33 years old and my daughter is 3 years old.  I also realized that my first post in this blog has those numbers on it, Book Collection from 33 Down to 3, which I published in April 22, 2011.

Confession

I’m going to cheat a little and give myself a head start.  I already wrote about some of the rules and guidelines here in my blog.  They’re under the topic “Tips“.  I’m going to use these as drafts and revise them to follow the overall tone of the book I’m going to write.  On the average, I should be able to finish writing 11 chapters each month.  Please pray for me! =)

3 Responses to “Taking on Another Personal Writing Project”

  1. ara January 18, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Go for it!

    • Laila January 18, 2012 at 7:42 am #

      thanks, ate ara! may all our dreams come true. =)

      • ara January 18, 2012 at 8:08 am #

        sana may “Like” button din sa reply. hehe =)

Leave a Reply

