Homeschooling: Before We Start

29 Jan

Tomorrow morning, my daughter and I will start Lesson 1 of the CFA Special Nursery Program.  For the reading program, I will teach her the sounds m and s.  For the math ideas for nursery, I will teach her the concept of same and different.

We had a few trial runs last week.  She saw the materials, thought they were story books, and asked me to read to her.  My husband tried teaching Lesson 1.  The part where he introduced the sounds went okay.  They had a little problem on the part where my husband say the words slowly and my daughter must say them the fast.  I figured she had trouble following the instructions because they were in English.  We speak Tagalog and Taglish at home.

Since the package arrived, I get excited but also nervous and anxious every time I think of it.  The only way I succeed in calming myself down is by putting things in perspective.  By not thinking too far ahead.  By taking it one lesson at a time.

I want to teach her how to read because I believe reading is a very important and useful skill.  I want to teach her myself because this will help determine whether to continue homeschooling next year or to send her to school.

I don’t just want her to learn to read but to also love reading.  The only way to do this is to make learning fun for her.  I found these motivational and inspirational quotes about reading and children:

  • “There is no substitute for books in the life of a child.” – May Ellen Chase
  • “So it is with children who learn to read fluently and well: They begin to take flight into whole new worlds as effortlessly as young birds take to the sky.” – William James
  • “Children are made readers on the laps of their parents.” – Emilie Buchwald
  • “The more you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr. Seuss, “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”
  • “So please, oh PLEASE, we beg, we pray, Go throw your TV set away, And in its place you can install, A lovely bookshelf on the wall.” – Roald Dahl, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • “It is not enough to simply teach children to read; we have to give them something worth reading. Something that will stretch their imaginations–something that will help them make sense of their own lives and encourage them to reach out toward people whose lives are quite different from their own.” – Katherine Patterson
  • “There are many little ways to enlarge your child’s world. Love of books is the best of all.” – Jacqueline Kennedy
  • “To learn to read is to light a fire; every syllable that is spelled out is a spark.” – Victor Hugo
  • “I really had a lot of dreams when I was a kid, and I think a great deal of that grew out of the fact that I had a chance to read a lot.” – Bill Gates
  • 
”Children should learn that reading is pleasure, not just something that teachers make you do in school.” – Beverly Cleary
Leave a Reply

