Blogs for Writers

5 Feb

I have been checking out blogs for writers these past few days.  The only one I knew about before I started writing was Write to Done by Mary Jaksch and Leo Babauta.  I follow Leo’s Zen Habits and that’s where I found out about it.  I have bought three of his books already.

Anyway, back to Write to Done.  One of the recent posts caught my eye, Writing Secrets of Prolific Authors by David Masters.  It mentioned Sean Platt who has published 11 books in the past nine months.  11 books!  Wow!  That got me curious so I visited his blog Ghostwriter Dad and signed up.  I’m not yet finished with my book but I am already planning to write more.

Yesterday, I went to Write to Done again.  The most recent post was Know Thyself. 7 Truths About Writers by Joanna Penn from The Creative Penn.  The first 3 truths,  We are loners,  We want recognition, and We are scared and doubt ourselves rang true to me.  I also signed up to get the Author 2.0 Blueprint, where she shows “How to use Web 2.0 tools to write, publish, sell and promote your book using the Blueprint for your online author platform”.

This morning, I checked out Jeff Goins Writer, which I found from Write to Done’s  Top 10 Blogs for Writers 2011/2012.  At his home page, the words “Fall Back in Love with Writing” popped out to me.  I immediately signed up after reading what followed:

The Writer’s Manifesto is a small eBook about getting back to the heart of writing — doing it for love of the craft, not accolades or acclaim.

I read the eBook immediately and loved it!  It was short but it’s everything I needed.

3 Responses to “Blogs for Writers”

  1. Jeannie February 6, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    I really like the Write to Done website too. I first found Leo on mnmlist.com, his blog about living simply.

    • Laila February 6, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      Hi, Jeannie! Can you recommend other blogs for writers? Thanks!

  2. Jeannie February 6, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    Sure Laila. Here are 2 favorites. They are excellent resources for everything about writing. Can’t go wrong with these two. 🙂

    http://storyfix.com/
    http://wordplay-kmweiland.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

