Felt Bad But Enlightened

22 Mar

“If you bungle raising your children, I don’t think whatever else you do well matters very much.” – Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis

I agree, wholeheartedly, with the lady known also as Jackie O.

I have many dreams and goals in life.  But not fulfilling and achieving them wouldn’t hurt as much as it would hurt if I woke up one day to realize that I screwed up as a parent.

These past few days, I heard and read parenting advices and insights that  made me feel a little guilty and pointed out what I am doing wrong as a parent.  But that’s great, right?

Because it means I can still correct my ways.

This week, Zen Habits and Bo Sanchez published amazing posts regarding parenting.

The former recommended concrete steps to show The Way of the Peaceful Parent.  My favorite was: Greet your child each morning with a smile, a hug, a loving Good Morning! This is how we would all like to be greeted each day.

The latter wrote in God Believes You Can Prosper about how the unconditional love of the parents contributed to his friend’s success.  The friend shares: Through all those years, they never gave up on me.

I have also been listening to Bo Sanchez’ talks and in one of those talks he discussed and explained why:

  • Parents shouldn’t label their children.
  • Parents should believe in the goodness of their children.
  • It’s never the fault of the children when parents lose their temper.

I felt bad.  But definitely enlightened.  My daughter is only 3 years old.  It isn’t too late.  I have time.  I can still change.

2 Responses to “Felt Bad But Enlightened”

  1. Ara March 23, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    Hi Lai. I came across that quote sometime back and, like you, it was also a wake-up call for me. I realized it was so true. The words of that quote stuck to me like glue that it became some sort of guiding principle for me as a mom and a parent. Every time I screw up with my responsibilities, that quote really haunts me. =)

    • Laila March 24, 2012 at 5:42 am #

      hi, ate ara!
      akmang-akma ang word na ginamit mo, “haunts”. that’s what the quote does to me, too.

Leave a Reply

