How I Became an Optimist

6 Jan

I used to worry too much.  I was a pessimist.  When faced with a new situation, my immediate thoughts were what can go wrong or what are the worst-case scenarios.  But now, I find myself thinking positive thoughts more often.  I also became aware, and thus, am able to immediately change course when I start thinking negatively.

It’s been said that we are what we eat.  Eating healthy food makes us healthier.  (note to self: eat less french fries)   I have come to believe that the same is true with what we think.   Because it’s now easier to look on the bright side, to count my blessings, to laugh and smile.  I can only attribute this change to my daily intake of happy, positive words.  Everyday, since November, I recite and/or read:

1.  The True Millionaire’s Prayer (source: the book 8 Secrets of The Truly Rich by Bo Sanchez)

Today, I ask You to bless me so that I may become a blessing.
Lord, I commit myself to enrich others.
But because I cannot give what I do not have,
I commit myself to become rich.
I commit myself to serve You and to serve the poor with my wealth.
Today, I open myself to the abundance of Your universe.
Use me as Your channel of love.
Give me the ability to create wealth that will bless the world.
Increase my financial wisdom and expand my territories.
I place my life in Your hands. Amen.

2.  Declaration of Wealth Prayer (new!  e-mailed to Truly Rich Club members last Dec 30, 2011)

I’m God’s beloved and it’s His great pleasure to bless me.
God’s river of blessings is flowing to me
at every single moment of my life.
Everything I need comes to me.
I’m a blessing magnet.
Money flows to me in great abundance.
I can earn any amount of money I choose.
I’m guided by God at every moment.
I’m a brilliant entrepreneur, creating wealth for God’s purposes.
I’m blessed with fantastic relationships.
I’m always meeting wonderful people
that bless me and make me grow.
I’m anointed by God to serve and bless the world.
I inspire the people around me.
I don’t own my wealth; Everything I have belongs to Him.
I merely manage it for the True Owner
and use it according to His will;
God is my real wealth;
And the people He gave me are my real treasures;
In Jesus name, Amen.

3.  Self-Affirmations

     a.  5 affirmations (source: the book How to Conquer Your Goliaths by Bo Sanchez)

“God is with me.”
“I’m a gifted person.”
“I’m a winner. I’m a successful person.”
“I’m a great wife. I’m a fantastic mother.”
“I’m very wealthy. I’m very generous.”

     b.  “Whatever I need comes to me.” – source: owner of Julie’s Bakeshop, as quoted in 8 Secrets of the Truly Rich
     c.  “I can be anything I want to be.”

4. God Whispers – a very short, sometimes humorous, sometimes serious, but always insightful personal message from God.  A treat for the soul sent to my e-mail daily.  Examples:

Dear LAILANI,

Don’t force yourself to cook up dreams. Instead, just be quiet and let the “dream seeds” I planted in your heart germinate. Grow. Soon, you’ll see my designs for your life unfold in your heart.

Your Home,
God

P.S. You’ll know if they’re my designs, LAILANI. Because you’ll feel right at home.

Dear LAILANI,

When you look in the mirror, what do you see? Do you see all your flaws and blemishes, or do you see the beautiful person I made you to be? Make it a habit to find the beautiful in you every day.

Crazy for You,
God

P.S. LAILANI, when you get used to seeing the beautiful in you, you’ll begin to see what’s worthy of praise in others as well.

5. Didache – a daily bible reflection sent to my inbox each morning.  It contains personal sharings and stories by ordinary people on the Mass readings of each day.  Example:

TODAY’S READINGS:

DIDACHE

WHO I AM

Anyone who does not do what is right is not God’s child, nor is anyone who does not love their brother and sister. – 1 John 3:10

Does God speak to you? He does to me. I mean not directly — not like He appears before me in all His glory. I wish!
God speaks to me through His words, which come to me just when I need them. Like the reading today in the book of 1 John.
For some time, I carried a grudge against a friend. I knew I should forgive but tried as I may, I just couldn’t go up to that level. Then, I received a call from Angie Espuerta, Didache’s editorial assistant. I had already submitted my assigned articles for 2012 but she requested me to rewrite my January 4 article. “You wrote about 1 John 3:16. You’re supposed to reflect on 1 John 3:7-10,” she said.
So I quickly looked up the passage and… wham! I could almost hear God’s booming voice: “You’re my child. Do what is right. Love your friend!”
All right, already. After I’m done with this reflection, I’m gonna forgive and reconcile with my friend.
And I am going to post 1 John 3:7-10 on my desk — better yet, in my heart — so throughout 2012 and the rest of my life, I will be reminded of who I am.  Cynthia Santiago (cusantiago@gmail.com)

REFLECTION:
Have you talked — and listened — to God lately?

Lord, grant that I may always feel Your presence and always listen to You. St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, religious, pray for us.

I kicked my bad habit of negative thinking not by trying to stop it.  I realized it’s more effective to adopt a new habit that will replace it.  That being said, I’ve got to eat more fruits and vegetables.   But hey, aren’t french fries made of potatoes?  (Yes, and riddled with lots of oil.  Don’t kid yourself.)

Aside from nourishing our bodies and starting our day right with the most important meal, let us also nourish our minds and our souls.  And you might just find people staring at you and then that’s when you realize you’re singing “Don’t Worry, Be Happy.”  Out loud.  In public.  Complete with dance steps.

2 Responses to “How I Became an Optimist”

  1. cessology January 8, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    I used to be a worrywart too, I worry about the littlest of things. Sometimes, I even worry that I worry too much – but not anymore. I’ve taken drama out of my system. (watching less teleseryes helped me)
    And hey, ang sarap kaya ng french fries. Hahaha!

    • Laila January 8, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      hi, crien! me,too! gave up watching the (bad) news too.
      i’m not giving up on french fries yet! =)

Leave a comment