Trying to Raise a Bookworm

11 Jan

Being a mother who loves reading, I want to raise my daughter to love reading too.  My husband and I buy most of her books from Booksale at Robinsons Lipa.  It sells low-priced unused, as well as previously-owned, books and bargain books from the U.S., Canada, Australia and the U.K.

Our recent finds were two Curious George books containing eight stories each.  The books were written by Margret and H.A. Rey and these feature a curious monkey named George, who is brought from his home in Africa by “The Man with The Yellow Hat” to live with him in a big city.

My daughter, who is 3 years old, loves chocolates.  We both do.  So I wasn’t surprised when she kept asking me to read “Curious George Goes to a Chocolate Factory”.  But I was so happy when she kept asking for the story “Curious George Visits the Library”, too.  Surrounding her with books at home and taking her to Booksale and other bookstores really do help in nurturing a love for reading.

I can’t wait to teach her to read!  I have just asked my sister, who lives in the USA, to order the book Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons for me.  It’s a complete, step-by-step program that shows parents simply and clearly how to teach their children to read.  I’m so excited!

6 Responses to “Trying to Raise a Bookworm”

  1. Peaches and Pumpkins January 11, 2012 at 3:22 am #

    Thanks for sharing..I’m also trying to raise a reader! We’re on the “Once Upon A Potty” book..and I’m sure you can figure out the topic I’m trying to teach her haha. Thanks for sharing!

    • Laila January 11, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      hi, ashley! you’re welcome. ha ha. good luck with potty training! =)

  2. Ara January 11, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Ditto! I read to Miguel as much as I can, about 2 to 3 short stories every night before he sleeps. And we also buy his books from Booksale. It is indeed a gold mine for nice books. Though used or old, they are still in good condition. =)

    • Laila January 11, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      mommy ara! hello! kakatuwa dun no? etong curious george na nabili namin, mukhang unused talaga lalo na sa loob. walang kahit anong gusot o dumi. yung cover, may konting-konting dent lang. bought it for 210 each. =)

  3. bernie January 12, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    hi lai, we also buy our books at booksale =) kakatuwa, coz at their age, the kids gets to choose what they want to read na. it’s fun watching them making salampak on the floor and read books while i browse through my kind of books. a speaker in one of cfa’s parenting talk recommended “dr. seuss” for early readers…easy read daw kasi, you might want to check it out for lorin, you also find it at booksake. =)

    • Laila January 12, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      hi, ma’am berns! speaking of cfa, pakisabihan nyo po ako pag may announcement na regarding homeschooling orientation. ok, will do. thanks! =)

Leave a comment